Skip to main content
4.8.9 Review of first six cranial nerves


Now we've looked at the first six cranial nerves. Let's review what we've seen so far in this section.

Here are the filaments of the first cranial nerve, the olfactory, here's the second cranial nerve, the optic.

Here's the third nerve , the oculomotor: its upper division, and its lower division. Here's the fourth nerve, the trochlear, and here, out of order, is the sixth, the abducent.

Here's the trigeminal nerve: the main trunk, the trigeminal ganglion, and the three divisions: the ophthalmic, the maxillary, and the mandibular. Here are the main branches of the ophthalmic: the frontal nerve, the nasociliary nerve, the lacrimal nerve.

Here are the main branches of the maxillary: the infra-orbital, the posterior, and anterior superior alveolar; the palatine nerves, greater and lesser, the nasopalatine nerve, and the zygomatico-facial, and zygomatico-temporal nerves.

Here are the main branches of the mandibular nerve: the buccal nerve, the motor branches, the auriculo-temporal nerve, the lingual nerve, and the inferior alveolar nerve.

[Read Less]
Enter an Access Code
Please take a moment to tell us about your experience with AclandAnatomy!
(1000 characters left)
Ease of use 1 = Not easy to use; 5 = Very easy to use
Video navigation 1 = Not easy to navigate; 5 = Very easy to navigate
Search results 1 = Not relevant; 5 = Very relevant
Value to your understanding of the subject 1 = Not valuable; 5 = Very valuable
Do you currently use another format of the Acland product (DVDs, streaming/institutional version, etc.)?
Tell us who you are.

May we contact you about your feedback?
reCAPTCHA verification required. Please check the box below and resubmit the form.
Captcha Validation Error. Please try again.
Your feedback has been successfully submitted.
We are unable to receive your feedback at this time. Please try again another time.
Please sign in to submit feedback.